Evacuation and Re-Entry

If you are evacuated, delay return until recommended or authorized by local authorities. A staged re-entry process will be used by the Dare County Control Group to facilitate an orderly re-entry. No one will be denied entry with proper identification. 

Proper Identification includes:

  • Driver’s License with Dare County Address
  • Current Tax Bill or Parcel Data Sheet with matching current government issued id
    • To print/view a property tax bill or parcel data sheet, visit darenc.com/gis. Search for owner’s name, address, tax parcel number, street name, or subdivision. Once you have selected a property, click the tax bill icon or the parcel data sheet icon to view/print. 
  • Reentry Permit

Please Note: No re-entry permits will be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall of a storm on the Outer Banks. Re-entry passes from previous years will not be accepted.


Priority One: Essential Personnel 
Essential personnel include essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel, and damage assessment personnel. Essential personnel will receive a Priority One Critical Personnel Pass for reentry from Municipal Mayors and the Chairman of the Dare County Control Group.

Priority Two: Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses
Permanent Residents will be allowed reentry with a valid NC driver’s license with a local address or a current Dare County property tax bill or parcel data sheet. Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as food service/supply, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted reentry only with a permit. 

Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses
Reentry permits are mailed to non-resident property owners. Permits are issued one to a household based on tax registration information. There are two separate non-resident property owner permits; one for property owners North of Oregon Inlet and one for property owners South of Oregon Inlet. NOTE: All Non-Resident Property Owner Permits (Green or Red Plastic Hanging Placards) with an April 1, 2018 expiration date remain valid until December 30, 2018. Contact Dare County Emergency Management (252.475.5655) if you are a non-resident property owner and have not received your reentry permit. Non-resident property owners can will also be allowed reentry with a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government issued id. Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed entry with a reentry pass. 

Priority Four: General Public and Visitors 
No reentry pass is needed for Priority Four.



Why are there reentry delays?

  • Polluted water
  • Severe flooding
  • Limited communications
  • No electricity/phone
  • Septic tanks backed up and flooding
  • Structures undermined
  • Trees & limbs on roads
  • Damage to personal property
  • Lack of infrastructure to support population 

Residents & Nonresident Property Owners: Keep your driver’s license with a Dare County address or Dare County property tax bill or parcel data sheet and corresponding identification with you during a staged reentry. You may encounter checkpoints in various locations across Dare County.

Business Owners: At the beginning of every hurricane season, ensure your employees have the proper reentry credentials. Contact Dare County Emergency Management to receive reentry passes for employees.

Visitors: Any plans to visit the Outer Banks should be confirmed before traveling to the area. All accommodations must be assessed for safety before you will be allowed access. Don’t risk coming and having to turn around once arriving. Contact your accommodations provider before leaving on your trip to verify your property or room is available.

Evacuation Map