Evacuation and Reentry

Following an evacuation, reentry may be restricted. If necessary, a staged reentry process will be used by the Dare County Control Group to facilitate an orderly reentry. No one will be denied entry with proper identification.

Proper Identification includes:

  • Driver’s License with Dare County Address
  • Current Tax Bill or Parcel Data Sheet with matching current government issued id

To print/view a property tax bill or parcel data sheet, visit darenc.com/gis. Search for owner’s name, address, tax parcel number, street name, or subdivision. Once you have selected a property, click the tax bill icon or the parcel data sheet icon to view/print.

  • Reentry Permit

To apply for a reentry permit, visit darenc.com/reentry

Please Note: No reentry permits will be issued within 72 hours of expected landfall of a storm on the Outer Banks. Reentry permits from previous years will not be accepted.


Priority One: Essential Personnel 

Essential personnel include essential utilities personnel, government personnel, medical personnel, and damage assessment personnel. Essential personnel will be allowed entry with a reentry permit and matching government issued identification.

Priority Two: Permanent Residents & Essential Personnel for Critical Businesses

Permanent Residents will be allowed reentry with a valid NC driver’s license/identification card with a local address or a current Dare County property tax bill or parcel data sheet. To expedite movement through traffic control points can also display a reentry permit. 

Non-resident essential personnel of critical businesses such as grocery stores, food distributor, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, property management, building supply and hotels will be permitted reentry with a reentry permit and matching current government issued identification.

Priority Three: Non-Resident Property Owners and Non-Resident Employees of Non-Critical Businesses

Non-resident property owners will also be allowed reentry with a current tax bill or parcel data sheet with matching current government issued id or a reentry permit with matching government issued identification.

Non-resident employees of non-critical businesses will be allowed entry with a reentry permit. 

Priority Four: General Public and Visitors 
No reentry pass is needed for Priority Four.



Why are there reentry delays?

  • Polluted water
  • Severe flooding
  • Limited communications
  • No electricity/phone
  • Septic tanks backed up and flooding
  • Structures undermined
  • Trees & limbs on roads
  • Damage to personal property
  • Lack of infrastructure to support population

Residents & Nonresident Property Owners: Keep your driver’s license with a Dare County address or Dare County property tax bill or parcel data sheet and corresponding identification with you during a staged reentry. You may encounter checkpoints in various locations across Dare County.

Business Owners: At the beginning of every hurricane season, ensure your employees have the proper reentry credentials.

Visitors: Any plans to visit the Outer Banks should be confirmed before traveling to the area. All accommodations must be assessed for safety before you will be allowed access. Don’t risk coming and having to turn around once arriving. Contact your accommodations provider before leaving on your trip to verify your property or room is available

Evacuation Map