Town of Kill Devil Hills
Board of Commissioners

Newly Elected Officials Take their Seats on the KDH Board of Commissioners

On Tuesday, November 5, 2019, the majority of Kill Devil Hills' voters elected Mayor Ben Sproul for a two-year term and Commissioners Ivy Ingram and B.J. McAvoy to serve four-year terms on the Board of Commissioners. The three newly elected officials took their oaths of office during the Monday, December 9, 2019, Board of Commissioners meeting. Following their oaths, Mayor Sproul and Commissioners Ingram and McAvoy took their seats along with current Commissioners Terry Gray and John Windley, to conclude the meeting. During the meeting, the Board unanimously voted to appoint Ivy Ingram as the Mayor Pro Tem. 

Pictured above from the left: Commissioner John Windley, Commissioner Terry Gray, Mayor Ben Sproul, Commissioner B.J. McAvoy, and Commissioner Ivy Ingram.

Pictured below: (1) Mayor Sproul, accompanied by his wife and son, takes his oath of office. (2) Commissioner Ingram, accompanied by her daughters, and Commissioner McAvoy, accompanied by his daughter, take their oaths of office. 

Mayor and Commissioners Oaths of Office

Honoring their Service to our Town

Sheila Davies, Former KDH Mayor and Mike Hogan, Former Mayor Pro Tem decided not to seek re-election, after dedicating their services to the Town for eight consecutive years. During their tenure, the Town of Kill Devil Hills experienced numerous improvements and changes, some of which include: the videotaping of the Board meetings, additional community events, the establishment of Neighborhood Watch, the expansion of the Multi-use path along Bay Drive, new Town facilities, historical designations, beach nourishment, storm water and street improvement projects, Town clean-up initiatives, the first fully accessible beach access, a disc golf course, a dog park, and a new water tower. Former Mayor Davies and Former Mayor Pro Tem Hogan took pride in ensuring that the quality of life for KDH residents and visitors was exceptional, they promoted citizen engagement and kept open-minds towards all citizens' comments. The Town expresses its deepest appreciation for the services of Former Mayor Davies and Former Mayor Pro Tem Hogan. 

The Town also extends its gratitude to Former Commissioner Skip Jones. While Former Commissioner Jones only served on the Town's Board for one year, he was a vital contributor to recent Town improvements. He continues to serve on the Street Improvement and Special Projects Committee. Former Commissioner Jones used his knowledge and experience to make decisions that he felt were in the best interest of the Town's citizens. The Town expresses its deepest appreciation for the service of Former Commissioner Jones. 

Pictured below from the left: (Incoming Board Members) Commissioner B.J. McAvoy, Mayor Pro Tem Ivy Ingram, Mayor Ben Sproul, (Outgoing Members) Mayor Sheila Davies, and Mayor Pro Tem Mike Hogan. (Not pictured is outgoing Commissioner Skip Jones)

Incoming and Outgoing Board
Powered by
CivicSend - A product of CivicPlus